Please Wait a Moment

How to Earn the CPLP Designation


The goal of the Cyber Professional Liability Practitioner (CPLP) Designation is to provide foundational knowledge of key cyber liability concepts as they relate to professional liability as well as ongoing continuing education in the latest trends and changes to cyber liability in the professional liability space.


How do I earn the CPLP designation?

To earn the CPLP designation, you must:

  • Be a member of PLUS
  • Have a minimum of 2 years of insurance industry experience
  • Complete the following PLUS Curriculum modules and their corresponding exams:
    • Module 1 | Fundamentals of Liability Insurance
    • Module 2 | Commercial General Liability Insurance Overview
    • Module 3 | Professional Liability Insurance: Introductions
    • Module 6 | Professional Liability Insurance Claims
    • Module 23 | Cyber Risk
  • Attend the live PLUS Cyber University virtual program or purchase the on-demand version*
    *Note: On-demand recordings and session materials will only be available for purchase for 90 days after the live virtual program. On-demand recordings are not eligible for CE/CLE credit.
  • Complete the Held for Ransom eLearning course
  • Complete the CPLP Agreement Form after you've completed the above requirements and return it to Designation & Curriculum Manager, Stephanie Johnson


Do I have to do anything to maintain the CPLP designation after I earn it?

Yes, a candidate must complete and self-report 12 hours of professional development related to cyber professional liability every 2 years, as well as be a current PLUS member at the time of renewal. Click here for more information on maintaining your CPLP designation.

Do you have an easily accessible list of modules?

Yes, we do! All of our modules are available in the online eLearning format and can be purchased in either a CE-eligible or non-CE eligible package. The difference between the two packages is simply how you will take the exam. Click here for a list of modules, their copyright dates, package details, and pricing.

Ready to get started?

There is no application or matriculation process. Simply start by purchasing your modules and registering for the next Cyber University.

Did you know? You can save 15% by purchasing the set of modules needed for the CPLP Designation!

>> Purchase the CE-eligible set here

>> Purchase the non-CE eligible set here


Have more questions?

Check out our CPLP FAQs or contact Designation & Curriculum Manager, Stephanie Johnson.