RPLU Overview & Requirements

The PLUS Curriculum, comprised of 23 comprehensive learning modules, focuses on the major lines of professional liability. These modules are also part of the education required to achieve the Registered Professional Liability Underwriter (RPLU) designation.

The RPLU designation provides you with a broad understanding of the key professional liability disciplines. This designation is recommended for anyone active in the field of professional liability.

Once you've earned your RPLU designation, you can continue your learning by completing 5 additional elective modules and their corresponding exams, thus earning the RPLU+ designation.

How do I earn the RPLU designation?
To earn the RPLU designation, you must:

  • Have 2 years of professional liability industry experience
  • Complete the 7 core modules and pass the corresponding exams
  • Complete 5 elective modules and pass the corresponding exams
  • Note: Modules 2 - 8 are considered core modules; Modules 9 - 23 are considered elective modules
  • Complete the RPLU Agreement Form and send it to Stephanie Johnson

How do I earn the RPLU+ designation?
To earn the RPLU+ designation, you must:

Which modules count towards the RPLU/RPLU+ designation?

 Module RPLU
 1 | Fundamentals of Liability Insurance*
 2 | Commercial General Liability Insurance: Overview
Module 1 is included in the cost of Module 2, but does not have its own corresponding exam

 X  X
 3 | Professional Liability Insurance: Introduction
 X  X
 4 | Financial Analysis
 X  X
 5 | Professional Liability Reinsurance
 X  X
 6 | Professional Liability Insurance Claims
 X  X
 7 | Medical Professional Liability Insurance: Introduction
 X  X
 8 | Directors & Officers Liability Insurance: Introduction
 X  X
 Any 5 elective modules*
 *Note: Modules 9 - 23 are considered elective modules
 Additional 5 elective modules not previously taken

Do you have a complete list of modules, what formats they're available in, and pricing?

Yes, we do! Click here for a list of modules and their available formats. Click here for pricing.

Ready to get started?

There is no application or matriculation process. Simply start by purchasing your first module. Click here for more information on purchasing modules and exams.

Have more questions?
Check out the RPLU FAQs or contact Stephanie Johnson at 800.845.0778 extension 583.